Facebook is testing a new feature that will offer to hide an ex’s status when two people break up, The Telegraph reports.
The social network announced that it was trialling the new feature for mobile users in the US first, saying it wanted to “develop resources for people who may be going through difficult moments in their lives”.
One of Facebook’s earliest features was the ability to add a relationship status, letting other users know if a person was single, in a relationship, or whether it was “complicated”.
But when it came to breaking up, the social network could be the worst place to be, with a relationship change being broadcast to the world, and news feeds filled with updates about a former beau’s exciting new life.
As a way of making break-ups easier, Facebook says it will offer users the option of “limiting” how often you see an ex when you change your relationship status.
This means updates won’t appear in your news feed, and they won’t be suggested when you start to write a new message or tag friends in photos.
Additionally, you will be able to hide your new posts from their former partner, and go through old photos and posts in which you are both tagged to let you untag yourself or change their privacy settings.
Even if you choose not to make changes when altering a relationship status, they will be accessible from the help centre at other times.
“Facebook is a place for sharing life’s important moments, which for many people include their romantic relationships. When a relationship ends, we’ve heard from people that they sometimes have questions about the options available to them on Facebook,” said Facebook product manager Kelly Winters.
“This work is part of our ongoing effort to develop resources for people who may be going through difficult moments in their lives. We hope these tools will help people end relationships on Facebook with greater ease, comfort and sense of control.”
Although Facebook is introducing these new tools, it’s unclear how many people will use them.